365 days

Trust me to copy someone else’s idea.

Bad idea to start a writing blog–or a blog to spur me to create–on an unoriginal thought. But the premise of the Julie/Julia Project–and the pluckiness of the film–is charming, perhaps serendipitous: Julia is to Julie as Jimmy is to Janet. I, too, have an affable Eric. So I imitate, and hope either Julie, Julia or Jimmy is flattered. And that I do produce publishable work in 365 days.

There are, thankfully, differences.

  • My Julia thinks I’m a writer. He sent me a note–a challenge?–last June: “May there be more stories from you!”
  • I don’t write out of a sense of drift or because–borrowing the elongated vowels of Meryl Streep’s Julia Childs–“I don’t have anything to dooooo.”
  • My dry spell is caused by fear. I made excuses. I don’t want to anymore.
  • I use the Sheffer stroke |, not the forward slash /. The slash sounds violent, implies equality between mentor and tenderfoot, and seems to require a choice: Julie or Julia. The Sheffer looks cleaner, and the disjunction shows more respect.

So here we go. With one eye on tonight’s episode of Lie to Me and an ear tuned to Hubby’s comments on our daughter’s “classic” photos, I write.

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

