Noted

I have over 50 notebooks and journals. Beautiful ones, with leather covers or thick, cream pages. They hold such promise.

They terrify me. They are too pure, too pristine, and I feel my words are not sufficient, not worthy. I have to forgive myself for marring their pages.

Today I exorcise this writing fear rooted in perfectionism. I embrace Chilton Pearce’s words: “To live a creative life, we must lose our fear of being wrong.”

These are my freedoms:

1. I am free to make mistakes–no apologies.

2. I do not always have grand ideas.

3. I am ordinary.

4. I commit grammatical errors.

5. I will allow my handwriting to go haywire.

6. I do not have to fill the pages.

7. I will not edit what I have handwritten.

8. I forgive myself for starting only now and am grateful for this 45th second chance.

9. I do not have to please anybody, even me.

10. Relax.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

